Faculty and Research

We are committed to excellence in research and adding value to training the newest generation of biologists.

Research experience is an important component of biology education at Purdue University Northwest. Our distinguished faculty are extremely active and engaged in their professional organizations, holding offices and editorial-board memberships in addition to participating as presenters in various biology conferences.

Leadership

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Cell and Molecular Biology

Radmila Sarac Stanic

Radmila Sarac Stanic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


saracr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2492

Hammond Campus, NILS 340K

 

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


wang73@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2152

Hammond Campus, NILS 340H

Christian G. Westring, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Crime, Forensics, and Security Analysis


cwestrin@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2495

Hammond Campus, GYTE 278

Ecology and Evolution

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology


malix@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5295

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111B

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


ydchoi@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2325

Hammond Campus, NILS 340F

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Vanessa Quinn

Vanessa S. Quinn, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


vquinn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5457

Westville Campus, SWRZ 104

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


rscrib@pnw.edu

219-785-5255

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111C

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mspauldi@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5614

Westville Campus, SWRZ 015

Microbiology and Immunology

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


bates43@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5577

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111D

Lindsay Gielda

Lindsay M. Gielda, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences


lgielda@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5318

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111A

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences and Graduate Program Coordinator


eting@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2490

Hammond Campus, NILS 340N

PNW placeholder image

Michael I. Zimmer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mzimmer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2491

Hammond Campus, NILS 340L

Health Studies

Image of John Durocher.

John J. Durocher, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, CSCS

Associate Professor of Health Studies


jjduroch@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2625

Hammond Campus, NILS 340D
Westville Campus, DSAC 1093