Faculty and Research

We are committed to excellence in research and adding value to training the newest generation of biologists.

Research experience is an important component of biology education at Purdue University Northwest. Our distinguished faculty are extremely active and engaged in their professional organizations, holding offices and editorial-board memberships in addition to participating as presenters in various biology conferences.

Integrative Physiology and Health Sciences (IPHS) Center

The IPHS Center will lead research, teaching, and outreach with a proactive and holistic approach to human health.

Visit Center

Leadership

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences; Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Cell and Molecular Biology

Radmila Sarac Stanic

Radmila Sarac Stanic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


saracr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2492

Hammond Campus, NILS 340K

 

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


wang73@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2152

Hammond Campus, NILS 340H

Christian G. Westring, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Crime and Forensics


cwestrin@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2495

Hammond Campus, GYTE 278

Ecology and Evolution

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology


malix@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5295

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111B

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


ydchoi@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2325

Hammond Campus, NILS 340F

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences; Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Vanessa Quinn

Vanessa S. Quinn, Ph.D.

Associate Dean; Professor of Biology


vquinn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5457

Hammond Campus, GYTE 181

Westville Campus, TECH 295

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


rscrib@pnw.edu

219-785-5255

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111C

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mspauldi@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5614

Westville Campus, SWRZ 015

Microbiology and Immunology

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


bates43@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5577

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111D

Lindsay Gielda

Lindsay M. Gielda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


lgielda@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5318

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111A

Michael Zimmer

Michael I. Zimmer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mzimmer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2491

Hammond Campus, NILS 340L

Integrative Human Health

john-durocher

John J. Durocher, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, CSCS

Nils K. Nelson Associate Professor of Integrative Human Health


jjduroch@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2625

Hammond Campus, NILS 340D
Westville Campus, DSAC 1093

Matthew A. Ladwig, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Integrative Human Health


Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Hassan Naji is pictured.

Hassan Naji, Ph.D.

Lecturer


hnaji@pnw.edu

219-989-3177

Hammond Campus, NILS 340M

Neurobiology

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences and Undergraduate Program Coordinator


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Emeriti Faculty

Richard Hengst

Richard Hengst, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Biology


PNW placeholder image

Dr. Robert Peloquin

Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences


W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita of Biological Sciences