About Us

Highly ranked* and led by respected faculty and staff, our college graduates a roster of successful engineers, scientists, health care professionals and educators.

Our Commitment

More than 10 undergraduate and graduate departments and programs prepare you to pursue excellent jobs in highly sought after STEM fields in the high-tech, data-based 21st century.

We are committed to a quality and broad education in the sciences by encouraging and supporting teaching excellence and by fostering research and community-outreach activities.

STEM on the Road

This peer-to-peer opportunity sees PNW students travel to local high schools to share share research and engineering demonstrations, highlighting what it’s like to be a STEM student at PNW.

Learn More

A World of Opportunities

As an undergraduate or graduate student, you can work on a broad range of research, ranging from statistical analysis, biological and chemical processes, smart technologies, ecology and environmental hazards, and more.

  • Our engineering departments house internationally-recognized groups in steel-production improvement, offering a multi-disciplinary bridge between science and engineering disciplines in a major industry.
  • Fifty percent of our Chemistry and Physics students go to graduate school.
  • If you intend to become a doctor, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist, PNW can prepare you to apply.

Where Our Graduates Work

Our graduates are actively and consistently recruited by numerous companies, including:

  • Sherwin Williams
  • Monosol
  • Midline Industries
  • GEA Farm Technologies
  • Solvay Industries
  • NIPSCO
  • Remis America Refrigeration Systems
  • General Motors
  • Department of Natural Resources
  • INVISTA (Texas) Flinthills Resources
  • (Minneapolis)
  • Alverno Labs
  • University of Chicago and
  • Indiana University Healthcare Systems

Leadership

Niaz Latif, Ph.D.

Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Sciences


nlatif@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3251

Hammond Campus, ANDR 202

Dietmar Rempfer, Ph.D.

Director, School of Engineering


drempfer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8327

Hammond Campus, POTT 121B

Catherine Murphy

Catherine Murphy, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Department of Computer Science


cmmurphy@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2270

Hammond Campus, CLO 344

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Advisors

Bill Baginski, M.B.A.

Engineering Career Advisor & Internship Coordinator


william.baginski@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4122

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171C

 

Patrick Leser, M.A.

Academic Advisor


leserp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2250

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171D

Afrika Powell

Academic Advisor


afpowell@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4116

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171B

JC White

Academic Advisor


jcwhite@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5582

Westville Campus, LSF 221

Specialists

Jennifer Birchfield

Jennifer Birchfield

Urban Waters Coordinator


jbirchfield@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4156

Hammond Campus, GYTE 288

PNW placeholder image

Leslie Dorworth Thompson, M.S.

Aquatic Ecology Specialist


dorworth@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2726

Hammond Campus, GYTE 279

Staff

PNW placeholder image

Debra Grant

Assistant to the Dean


dlgrant@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2468

Hammond Campus, GYTE 181

Dana Krill

Dana Krill, M.A.

Digital Marketing Manager


dkrill@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5676

Hammond Campus, POTT 126

Michelle Mack

Michelle Mack

Administrative Specialist V


mmmack@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3218

Hammond Campus, POTT 121