Niaz Latif, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Technology | Executive Director, Commercialization and Manufacturing Excellence Center

Niaz Latif is pictured.


Niaz Latif is dean of PNW’s College of Technology and Interim Dean of the College of Engineering and Sciences

Previous Roles

  • Dean, College of Technology, Purdue University Northwest (PNW)
  • Associate Vice Chancellor Research and Graduate Studies, PNW
  • Assistant Dean, College of Technology, Purdue University-West Lafayette (PU-WL)
  • Head, Industrial Technology, College of Technology, PU-WL


• 2019 US Department of Commerce grant(2 yr. grant, 2019-2021, #ED19HDQ0200062) Principal Investigator, $386,316

• 2013 US Department of Labor (USDOL) grant(4 yr. grant 2013-17, # 13120726),Principal Investigator, $2,741,491

• 2013: National Science Foundation (NSF) ATE grant (3 yr. grant 2013-16, # DUE-1304391), Co-Principal Investigator, $764,765 (Purdue Northwest share is $121,998)

• 2010: National Science Foundation (NSF) ATE grant (3 yr. grant 2010-14, # DUE-1003668), Principal Investigator, $613,862

Niaz Latif is pictured.


(219) 989-3251

Office Location:

Anderson Building 202A (Hammond)


  • Ph.D. Agricultural Engineering, University of Missouri-Columbia, 1988
  • M.S. Agricultural Engineering, South Dakota State University, 1985
  • M.S. Engineering, South Dakota State University, 1983
  • B.Sc. Mechanical Engineering, University of Chittagong, Bangladesh, 1977

Areas of Expertise

  • Thermal and Fluid Sciences
  • Human Factors and Ergonomics
  • Academic Program Development
  • Quality Assurance of Academic Programs

Credentials, Accreditations & Awards

  • Fellow, American Society for Engineering Education
  • Distinguished Engineer, South Dakota State University
  • ASEE’s Frederick J. Berger Award for excellence in engineering education ABET, Commissioner .
  • Outstanding Administrative Leader of PNW Distinguished Alumni, SDSU

Curriculum Vitae