Statement on Licensure

Purdue Northwest’s Couple and Family Therapy master’s degree program offers a COAMFTE-accredited onsite training program that meets the educational requirements for licensure for marriage and family therapy in the states of Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas and Texas.

Students physically located in other states should contact their home state’s licensure board to determine their home state’s requirements for licensure. The Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB) has a website that provides information about each state’s licensure requirements. Prospective and current students are encouraged to check the website frequently for changes to licensure requirements.

In addition, once enrolled in the program, a required assignment in the Professional Issues (Ethics) class is to determine which state you are likely to pursue licensure, to learn about the state’s requirements, and to write a paper about what is needed in terms of additional coursework, clinical and supervisory hours, and licensure examination to achieve full licensure in that selected state.*

*This program is in the process of changing its name from Marriage and Family Therapy to Couple and Family Therapy. You may see references to either name as we make this transition.

PNW Couple and Family Therapy Program and Educational Requirements for Licensure

States for Which Licensure Educational Requirements ARE Met by the Program’s Curriculum

  • Indiana
  • Illinois
  • Michigan
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Texas

States for Which Licensure Educational Requirements Are NOT Met by the Program’s Curriculum*

  • California
  • Florida
  • North Carolina

*Additional coursework is needed for these states.

States for Which No Determination Has Been Made as to Whether the Program’s Curriculum Does or Does Not Meet Licensure Educational Requirements

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming