Purdue Northwest Hosts Second Annual Digital Marketing Competition

November 18, 2020

Matthew Hanson, clinical assistant professor of marketing at Purdue Northwest, is the creator of the Digital Marketing Competition.

Purdue University Northwest’s College of Business is pleased to host the second annual Digital Marketing Competition (DMC). The international student competition challenges collegiate teams of two to four students to create and present a digital marketing campaign based on a case study supplied by the competition sponsor. This year’s final presentations will be held virtually on Dec. 12.

The DMC was created by Matthew Hanson, clinical assistant professor of marketing at PNW, in response to the rapidly growing field of digital marketing. Working with corporate sponsors from across the country, Hanson, who facilitates the competition, explains the goal of the contest: “It’s a mission to create an environment where companies, professors and students work together to increase their education in digital marketing, and do it all together.”

The contest is in its second year and has attracted more than 100 colleges and universities from around the world. Open to teams of undergraduate students currently enrolled at a college/university, each team must have a professor of record and each university can enter more than one team. This year participants were asked to solve several objectives based on a case study provided by competition sponsor ChangED.

Students from Western Michigan University won the first Digital Marketing Competition (DMC) in 2019. Purdue University Northwest’s (PNW) College of Business will host the second annual DMC in a virtual platform on Dec. 12.

Student teams submit an eight-minute video that highlights the team’s research, paid and owned digital marketing strategy and an overview of media placement and evaluation methods. The top five entries then advance to the final round where a panel of industry professionals will judge each team’s presentation. The top three teams will receive $1,000, $500 and $250, respectively. Awards will also be handed out for best research/strategy, best owned strategy, best paid strategy and best media/evaluation.

Last year’s winning team was from Western Michigan University.

This year’s sponsors include: ChangED, Facebook, Digital Helium, White Lodging, Stukent, Digital Target Marketing, SEMrush, WeCreate, The Barbauld Agency and Acadium.