FSD 17-02 Chair Elect

August 8, 2017

Purdue University Northwest Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Document 17-02

Submission Date: 8/25/2017 (Executive Committee)

Senate Action and Date:

  • For Discussion, 8/25/2017;
  • For Action, 10/13/2017;
  • Approved, 10/13/2017; Dr. D. Detmer won the chair-elect position for 2018-2019.

Whereas: The Bylaws make no provision for the election of a Chair of the Senate for the first year after the transition to proportional representation in 2018-19, and

Whereas: It is in the best interests of the Senate to have experienced leadership, therefore,

Be it resolved: There shall be a special position for the 2017-2018 academic year of Chair-elect of the Senate, with the person serving in this position to become Chair of the Senate in the Fall of 2018,

Further: The Chair-elect shall be a member of the leadership of the Senate, along with the Chair and Vice-Chair; the Chair-elect shall be an additional member of the Senate, with vote, and shall serve on the Executive Committee,

Further: The Chair-elect shall be elected by the Senate from among all eligible voting faculty, whether or not they currently serve on the Senate,

Further: that the Executive Committee shall solicit nominations of eligible faculty for the position of Chair-elect, with an election to be held by the Senate at its September, 2017 meeting.

Further: If the Chair-elect is currently a member of the Senate, his or her seat on the Senate shall be considered vacated and subject to replacement by his or her academic unit, according to its normal procedures.



Ballot for Chair-Elect (to serve as Chair, 2018-19)

The following are the four candidates for the office of Chair-Elect, as authorized by FSD 17-02. Please mark your ballot as follows. You MUST rank all four candidates by placing a “1” next to the name of your most preferred candidate, a “2” next to the name of your second most preferred candidate, a “3” next to the name your third most preferred candidate, and a “4” next to the name of your least preferred candidate. Ballots not adhering to these requirements will be considered spoiled, and not counted.

Jim Pula
Paul Hecht
David Detmer
Feng-Song Wang