FSD 17-06 – Staggered Terms Amendment

September 1, 2017

Purdue University Northwest Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Document 17-06

Submission Date: 9/1/2017 (Executive)

Senate Action and Date:

  • For Discussion, 9/8//2017; 10/13/2017
  • For Action, 11/10/2017;
  • Approved, 11/10/2017

Whereas: Section IV.C.2 of the Constitution governs the initial length of terms of Senators elected at the first election under proportional representation, which election will take place in April 2018, and the Section currently reads as follows:

“Senate terms will be staggered so that each academic unit elects senators for one year, two year, and three year terms, depending upon the number of senators. At-large senators will also be staggered terms expiring after one year, two year and three years of service, depending upon the number of at-large senators. If there is only one senator (academic unit or at-large) the term is three years. If two senators the terms are two years and three years. If three senators the terms are one year, two years and three years.”

Whereas: The intent of this language is to provide for the expiration of terms of one-third of the Senators each year, and

Whereas: The current language in Constitution IV.C.2 does not actually provide for the intended effect, due to a bias towards initial three year terms in the current language, and since this will result in excess turnover after three years,

Be it resolved: The Constitution shall be amended as follows:

Delete Constitution IV.C.2 as currently written. Replace it with the following:

Before the initial election of Senators following the two-year transitional period, the Nominating Committee shall divide both the Departmental and At-large seats as equally as possible into three classes: one class expiring after one year, one after two years, and the third after three years. Following this initial election, Senate seats will normally be filled for three year terms; exceptions shall be as stipulated in the Bylaws.

Further: It is the intent of the Senate to amend the Bylaws to conform with this amendment after its approval by the Faculty.


  • A. Elmendorf
  • P. Hecht
  • J. Pula
  • G. Schultz (Chair)
  • F. Wang
  • D. Whitten
  • D. Wilbur


  • None