About Us

We are dedicated teachers and active researchers who have experience in a wide range of disciplines within chemistry, physics and astronomy.

Our Approach

Several focus areas or concentrations are available within our Chemistry and Physical Sciences degree programs. Our chemistry degree program is certified by the American Chemical Society (ACS), a mark of our commitment to the rigorous and comprehensive curriculum students will experience.

Students will work with faculty who have experience in a wide range of sub-disciplines within chemistry, physics, astronomy, forensics, and earth and space science, and are actively engaged in research. Students will be involved in research projects with faculty and collaborators at other universities, laboratories and observatories.

Our Opportunities

  • Engaging classroom and hands-on laboratory instruction
  • Access to state-of-the-art instrumentation
  • Smaller student-to-faculty ratio that allows easy access to faculty members
  • Opportunity to participate in undergraduate research
  • Opportunity to work at national and international high energy physics facilities such as Fermi, CERN and Argonne National Lab
  • Opportunity to observe and conduct research using the one of its kind robotic telescope in Northwest Indiana
  • Paid undergraduate TA opportunities
  • Scholarships for deserving students
  • Free tutoring and supplemental instruction (SI) in certain courses
  • Opportunities for social and service activities through the Chemistry and Physics Club, the College Ambassador’s Program, the regional Science Olympiad competition and outreach to local schools
  • Opportunities of employment in companies in Northwest Indiana that rely on physical sciences

Our Faculty

Adam Rengstorf is pictured.

Adam W. Rengstorf, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Department of Chemistry and Physics and Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy


(219) 989-2624

Hammond Campus, GYTE 268

Reynaldo Barreto

Reynaldo (Rey) D. Barreto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 785-5475

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311B

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


(219) 785-5452

Westville Campus, SWRZ 310

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Physics


(219) 989-2260

Hammond Campus, GYTE 259

Nicholas Ernst is pictured.

Nicholas E. Ernst, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry


(219) 989-2282

Hammond Campus, GYTE 273

Dawit Gizachew

Dawit Gizachew, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 989-2667

Hammond Campus, GYTE 274

Farai C. Gombedza, M.S., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry


(219) 989-2914

Hammond Campus, GYTE 270

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 785-5776

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311C

Robert Kramer

Robert A. Kramer, Ph.D., CEM, CDSM, CEA

Professor of Physics


(219) 989-2147

Hammond Campus, SAB 069 & GYTE 271

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics; Director, Center for High Energy Physics


(219) 989-2722

Hammond Campus, GYTE 255

Libbie S. W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 989-2780

Hammond Campus, Gyte 265

Michael Pelter

Michael W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 989-2449

Hammond Campus, Gyte 277

Kathryn Rowberg

Kathryn L. Rowberg, J.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


(219) 989-2620

Hammond Campus, GYTE 267

Charles Steele

Charles A. Steele, M.S.

Lecturer of Physical Science


(219) 989-3185

Hammond Campus, GYTE 272

Daniel Suson

Daniel Suson, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics


(219) 989-2375

Hammond Campus, GYTE 269

Aaron Warren

Aaron R. Warren, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


(219) 785-5659

Westville Campus, SWRZ 309