Faculty & Staff

College of Engineering and Sciences

Niaz Latif, Ph.D.

Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Sciences


nlatif@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3251

Hammond Campus, ANDR 202

Dietmar Rempfer, Ph.D.

Director, School of Engineering


drempfer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8327

Hammond Campus, POTT 121B

Catherine Murphy

Catherine Murphy, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Department of Computer Science


cmmurphy@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2270

Hammond Campus, CLO 344

Christian G. Westring, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Crime, Forensics, and Security Analysis


cwestrin@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2495

Hammond Campus, GYTE 278

Our Faculty

Biological Sciences

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology


malix@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5295

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111B

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


bates43@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5577

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111D

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


ydchoi@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2325

Hammond Campus, NILS 340F

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Image of John Durocher.

John J. Durocher, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, CSCS

Associate Professor of Health Studies


jjduroch@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2625

Hammond Campus, NILS 340D
Westville Campus, DSAC 1093

Lindsay Gielda

Lindsay M. Gielda, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences


lgielda@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5318

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111A

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Professor of Biological Sciences


cholford@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2446

Hammond Campus, LAWS 346
Westville Campus, SWRZ 150

Vanessa Quinn

Vanessa S. Quinn, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


vquinn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5457

Westville Campus, SWRZ 104

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


rscrib@pnw.edu

219-785-5255

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111C

Scott Simerlein, D.C.

Scott Simerlein, D.C.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences


ssimerle@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5352

Westville Campus, SWRZ 06

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mspauldi@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5614

Westville Campus, SWRZ 015

Radmila Sarac Stanic

Radmila Sarac Stanic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


saracr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2492

Hammond Campus, NILS 340K

 

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences and Graduate Program Coordinator


eting@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2490

Hammond Campus, NILS 340N

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


wang73@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2152

Hammond Campus, NILS 340H

PNW placeholder image

Michael I. Zimmer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mzimmer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2491

Hammond Campus, NILS 340L

Chemistry and Physics

Reynaldo Barreto

Reynaldo (Rey) D. Barreto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rbarreto@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5475

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311B

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


gbricker@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5452

Westville Campus, SWRZ 310

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Physics


jdolen@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2260

Hammond Campus, GYTE 259

Dawit Gizachew

Dawit Gizachew, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry


dgizache@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2667

Hammond Campus, GYTE 274

Farai C. Gombedza, M.S., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry


fgombedz@pnw.edu

(219)989-2914

Gyte 270

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


isaaclam@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5776

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311C

Robert Kramer

Robert A. Kramer, Ph.D., CEM, CDSM, CEA

NiSource Charitable Foundation Professor of Energy


kramerro@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2147

Hammond Campus, SAB 069 & GYTE 271

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics


parashar@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2722

Hammond Campus, GYTE 255

Harold Pinnick

Harold W. Pinnick, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry


pinnickh@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2324

Hammond Campus, GYTE 275

Libbie S. W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


pelterl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2780

Hammond Campus, Gyte 265

Michael Pelter

Michael W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


mwpelter@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2449

Hammond Campus, Gyte 277

Adam Rengstorf

Adam W. Rengstorf, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


adamwr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2624

Hammond Campus, GYTE 268

Kathryn Rowberg

Kathryn L. Rowberg, J.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rowberkl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2620

Hammond Campus, GYTE 267

Charles Steele

Charles A. Steele, M.S.

Visiting Instructor of Physical Science


steele49@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3185

Hammond Campus, GYTE 272

Daniel Suson

Daniel Suson, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics


daniel.suson@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2375

Hammond Campus, GYTE 269

Aaron Warren

Aaron R. Warren, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


arwarren@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5659

Westville Campus, Schwarz 309

Computer Science

Roger Kraft

Roger Kraft, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


roger@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2696

Hammond Campus, CLO 368

Shuhui (Grace) Yang

Shuhui Grace Yang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


shuhuiyang@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2697

Hammond Campus, CLO 370

Ruijian Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


zhangrj@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2706

Hammond Campus, CLO 372

Hairong Zhao

Hairong Zhao, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science


hairong@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3181

Hammond Campus, CLO 366

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Vijay Devabhaktuni

Vijay Devabhaktuni, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Department Chair


vjdev@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4190

Hammond Campus, POTT 323

Khair Al Shamaileh

Khair Al Shamaileh, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering


kalshama@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8374

Hammond Campus, POTT 231

Constantin Apostoaia

Constantin Apostoaia, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering


apostoai@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2268

Hammond Campus, POTT 300

Colin Elkin

Colin Elkin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering


cpe@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5422

Hammond Campus, POTT 315C
Westville Campus, TECH 068

Ahmed Hassebo

Ahmed Hassebo, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor


ahassebo@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5477

  • Hammond Campus, POTT 315C
  • Westville Campus, TECH 039

Nasser Houshangi

Nasser Houshangi, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering


nhousha@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2461

Hammond Campus, POTT 329

David Kozel

David Kozel, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


dkozel@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2680

Hammond Campus, POTT 333

Quamar Niyaz

Quamar Niyaz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


qniyaz@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2685

Hammond Campus, POTT 225

Edward Pierson, Sc.D.

Professor Emeritus and Academic Advisor


espierso@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2467

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171A

Lizhe Tan

Lizhe Tan, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


lizhetan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2486

Hammond Campus, POTT 325

Xiaoli (Lucy) Yang

Xiaoli (Lucy) Yang, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Engineering


yangx@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2763

Hammond Campus, POTT 331

Mathematics and Statistics

Nicoleta Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Nicoleta E. Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics and Interim Chair of Mathematics and Statistics


netarful@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2707

Hammond Campus, CLO 378

Gokarna Aryal

Gokarna Aryal, Ph.D.

Professor of Statistics


aryalg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2701

Hammond Campus, CLO 380

PNW placeholder image

Norma Elias, Ph.D.

Continuing Lecturer of Mathematics


elias@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2269

Hammond Campus, CLO 348

Anthony Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Anthony D. Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


adelmend@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2704

Hammond Campus, CLO 374

David Feikes

David Feikes, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


feikesd@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5489

Westville Campus, SWRZ 307

Harshini Fernando

Harshini Fernando, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


hfernando@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5471

Westville Campus, SWRZ 305

PNW placeholder image

Jeff Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education


gregg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2705

Hammond Campus, CLO 356

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Statistics


ghystad@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2598

Hammond Campus, CLO 364

Bir Kafle, Ph.D.

Bir B. Kafle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


bkafle@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5774.

Westville Campus, SWRZ 106

Susitha Karunaratne

Susitha Karunaratne, M.S.

Clinical Assistant Professor in Mathematics & Statistics


skarunar@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5277

Westville Campus, SWRZ 105

Jonathan Kuhn

Jonathan Kuhn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Statistics


jkuhn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5563

Westville Campus, SWRZ 107

Hammond Campus, CLO 383

PNW placeholder image

Robert Merkovsky, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


rrmerkov@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2703

Hammond Campus, CLO 382

PNW placeholder image

Weihua Ruan, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


wruan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2271

Hammond Campus, CLO 362

Nicolae Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


Tarfulea@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2698

Hammond Campus, CLO 376

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


atogbe@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5458

Westville Campus, SWRZ 302

Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


psturbek@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2273

Hammond Campus, CLO 360

PNW placeholder image

Diana Underwood Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Math Education


diana@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2274

Hammond Campus, CLO 354

Mechanical and Civil Engineering

Nesrin Ozalp

Nesrin Ozalp, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Department Chair


nozalp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2071

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211D

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


harveya@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2473

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211E

Chien-Chung Chen

Chien-Chung Chen, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor of Civil Engineering


chen1736@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2901

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211H

Niranjan Desai

Niranjan Desai, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Civil Engineering


Desai39@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5297

Westville Campus, TECH 008
Hammond Campus, PWRS 211G

Hansung Kim

Hansung Kim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


kim886@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2684

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211C

Jilian Li

Jiliang Li, Ph.D., P.E.

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering


jiliang.li@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5216

Westville Campus, TECH 080

Yun (Tom) Liu

Yun (Tom) Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


liu739@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5381

Westville Campus, TECH 010

Masoud Mojtahed

Masoud Mojtahed, Ph.D

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


mojtahed@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2480

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211F

Xiuling Wang

Xiuling Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


wangx@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8065

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211i

Wubeshet Woldemariam

Wubeshet Woldemariam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering


wwoldema@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3147

Hammond Campus, Powers 211L

Nuri Zeytinoglu

Nuri Zeytinoglu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


nz@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5391

Westville Campus, TECH 082

Shengyong Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


syzhang@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5521

Westville Campus, TECH 387

Chenn Zhou

Chenn Zhou, Ph.D.

NIPSCO Distinguished Professor of Engineering Simulation; Director, the Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation (CIVS)


czhou@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2665

Hammond Campus, PWRS 121

Ran Zhou

Ran Zhou, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


zhou970@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2338

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211K

Staff

Sean Albano

Sean Albano

Lab Technician


salbano@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2047

Hammond Campus, POTT 304

Rose Benoit

Rose Benoit

Administrative Assistant


benoitr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3106

Hammond Campus, POTT 321

Erica Burnett

Erica Burnett

Secretary


enburnet@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2404

Hammond Campus, NILS 340J

Susan Delatorre

Susan Delatorre

Secretary


delatorr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2284

Hammond Campus, GYTE 251

Connor Feeney

Connor Feeney

Lab Supervisor


feeneyc@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5271

Hammond Campus, ANDR 142B

Justin Golday

Justin Golday, M.S.

Biology Lab Technician


jgolday@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5272

Westville Campus, SWRZ 115

PNW placeholder image

Debra Grant

Assistant to the Dean


dlgrant@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2468

Hammond Campus, GYTE 181

PNW placeholder image

Pamela Hunter

Secretary V


pahunter@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2273

Hammond Campus, CLO 343

Dana Krill

Dana Krill, M.A.

Digital Marketing Manager


dkrill@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5676

Hammond Campus, POTT 126

Michelle Mack

Michelle Mack

Administrative Specialist V


mmmack@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3218

Hammond Campus, POTT 121

Diane Mason

Administrative Assistant


dmason@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2472

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211A

Marcel Mejulu

Lab Supervisor


mmejulu@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2668

Hammond Campus, ANDR 142B

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Lab Technician


nortonms@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2373

Hammond Campus, GYTE 122

Advisors

Bill Baginski, M.B.A.

Engineering Career Advisor & Internship Coordinator


william.baginski@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4122

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171C

 

Patrick Leser, M.A.

Academic Advisor


leserp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2250

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171D

Edward Pierson, Sc.D.

Professor Emeritus and Academic Advisor


espierso@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2467

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171A

Afrika Powell

Academic Advisor


afpowell@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4116

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171B

JC White

Academic Advisor


jcwhite@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5582

Westville Campus, LSF 221

Specialists

Jennifer Birchfield

Jennifer Birchfield

Urban Waters Coordinator


jbirchfield@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4156

Hammond Campus, GYTE 288

PNW placeholder image

Leslie Dorworth Thompson, M.S.

Aquatic Ecology Specialist


dorworth@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2726

Hammond Campus, GYTE 279