Faculty and Staff

College of Engineering and Sciences

Dietmar Rempfer, Ph.D., interim dean of the College of Engineering and Sciences and director of the School of Engineering at Purdue University Northwest

Dietmar Rempfer, Ph.D.

Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Sciences; Director, School of Engineering


drempfer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8327

Hammond Campus, POTT 121B

Catherine Murphy

Catherine Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Dean; Professor of Mathematics


cmmurphy@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2270

Hammond Campus, CLO 344

Christian G. Westring, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Crime and Forensics


cwestrin@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2495

Hammond Campus, GYTE 278

Our Faculty

Biological Sciences

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology


malix@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5295

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111B

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


bates43@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5577

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111D

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


ydchoi@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2325

Hammond Campus, NILS 340F

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

john-durocher

John J. Durocher, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, CSCS

Nils K. Nelson Associate Professor of Integrative Human Health


jjduroch@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2625

Hammond Campus, NILS 340D
Westville Campus, DSAC 1093

Lindsay Gielda

Lindsay M. Gielda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


lgielda@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5318

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111A

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs


cholford@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2446

Hammond Campus, LAWS 346
Westville Campus, SWRZ 150

Hassan Naji is pictured.

Hassan Naji, Ph.D.

Lecturer


hnaji@pnw.edu

219-989-3177

Hammond Campus, NILS 340M

Vanessa Quinn

Vanessa S. Quinn, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


vquinn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5457

Westville Campus, SWRZ 104

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


rscrib@pnw.edu

219-785-5255

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111C

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mspauldi@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5614

Westville Campus, SWRZ 015

Radmila Sarac Stanic

Radmila Sarac Stanic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


saracr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2492

Hammond Campus, NILS 340K

 

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences and Graduate Program Coordinator


eting@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2490

Hammond Campus, NILS 340N

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


wang73@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2152

Hammond Campus, NILS 340H

Michael Zimmer

Michael I. Zimmer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mzimmer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2491

Hammond Campus, NILS 340L

Chemistry and Physics

adam rengstorf

Adam W. Rengstorf, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Department of Chemistry and Physics and Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy


adamwr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2624

Hammond Campus, GYTE 268

Reynaldo Barreto

Reynaldo (Rey) D. Barreto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rbarreto@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5475

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311B

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


gbricker@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5452

Westville Campus, SWRZ 310

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Physics


jdolen@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2260

Hammond Campus, GYTE 259

Nicholas Ernst is pictured.

Nicholas E. Ernst, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry


neernst@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2282

Hammond Campus, GYTE 273

Dawit Gizachew

Dawit Gizachew, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


dgizache@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2667

Hammond Campus, GYTE 274

Farai C. Gombedza, M.S., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry


fgombedz@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2914

Hammond Campus, GYTE 270

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


isaaclam@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5776

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311C

Robert Kramer

Robert A. Kramer, Ph.D., CEM, CDSM, CEA

Professor of Physics


kramerro@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2147

Hammond Campus, SAB 069 & GYTE 271

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics; Director, Center for High Energy Physics


parashar@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2722

Hammond Campus, GYTE 255

Libbie S. W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


pelterl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2780

Hammond Campus, Gyte 265

Michael Pelter

Michael W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


mwpelter@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2449

Hammond Campus, Gyte 277

Kathryn Rowberg

Kathryn L. Rowberg, J.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rowberkl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2620

Hammond Campus, GYTE 267

Charles Steele

Charles A. Steele, M.S.

Lecturer of Physical Science


steele49@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3185

Hammond Campus, GYTE 272

Daniel Suson

Daniel Suson, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics


daniel.suson@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2375

Hammond Campus, GYTE 269

Aaron Warren

Aaron R. Warren, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


arwarren@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5659

Westville Campus, SWRZ 309

Computer Science

Shuhui (Grace) Yang

Shuhui Grace Yang, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Computer Science; Professor of Computer Science


shuhuiyang@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2697

Hammond Campus, CLO 370

Roger Kraft

Roger Kraft, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


roger@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2696

Hammond Campus, CLO 368

Ruijian Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


zhangrj@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2706

Hammond Campus, CLO 372

Hairong Zhao

Hairong Zhao, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science


hairong@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3181

Hammond Campus, CLO 366

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lizhe Tan

Lizhe Tan, Ph.D.

Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


lizhetan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2486

Hammond Campus, POTT 323

Khair Al Shamaileh

Khair Al Shamaileh, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering


kalshama@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8374

Hammond Campus, POTT 231

Constantin Apostoaia

Constantin Apostoaia, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering


apostoai@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2268

Hammond Campus, POTT 300

Colin Elkin

Colin Elkin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering


cpe@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5422

Hammond Campus, POTT 315C
Westville Campus, TECH 068

Nasser Houshangi

Nasser Houshangi, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering


nhousha@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2461

Hammond Campus, POTT 329

David Kozel

David Kozel, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


dkozel@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2680

Hammond Campus, POTT 333

MairajAakif Headshot

Aakif Mairaj, Ph.D.

Lecturer


amairaj@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2756

Hammond Campus, POTT 225

Quamar Niyaz

Quamar Niyaz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


qniyaz@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2685

Hammond Campus, POTT 225

Xiaoli (Lucy) Yang

Xiaoli (Lucy) Yang, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Engineering


yangx@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2763

Hammond Campus, POTT 331

Mathematics and Statistics

TarfuleaNicoleta

Nicoleta E. Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Chair of Mathematics and Statistics, and Professor of Mathematics


netarful@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2707

Hammond Campus, CLO 378

Gokarna Aryal

Gokarna Aryal, Ph.D.

Professor of Statistics


aryalg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2701

Hammond Campus, CLO 380

PNW placeholder image

Gayla Domke, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


gdomke@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5725

Westville, SWRZ 304

Anthony Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Anthony D. Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


adelmend@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2704

Hammond Campus, CLO 374

David Feikes

David Feikes, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


feikesd@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5489

Westville Campus, SWRZ 307

Harshini Fernando

Harshini Fernando, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


hfernando@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5471

Westville Campus, SWRZ 305

PNW placeholder image

Jeff Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education


gregg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2705

Hammond Campus, CLO 356

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Statistics


ghystad@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2598

Hammond Campus, CLO 364

Bir Kafle, Ph.D.

Bir B. Kafle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


bkafle@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5774.

Hammond Campus, CLO 350

Jonathan Kuhn

Jonathan Kuhn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Statistics


jkuhn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5563

Westville Campus, SWRZ 107

Hammond Campus, CLO 383

PNW placeholder image

Robert Merkovsky, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


rrmerkov@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2703

Hammond Campus, CLO 382

PNW placeholder image

Weihua Ruan, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


wruan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2271

Hammond Campus, CLO 362

Nicolae Tarfulea Headshot

Nicolae Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


Tarfulea@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2698

Hammond Campus, CLO 376

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


atogbe@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5458

Westville Campus, SWRZ 302

Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


psturbek@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2273

Hammond Campus, CLO 360

PNW placeholder image

Diana Underwood Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Math Education


diana@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2274

Hammond Campus, CLO 354

Mechanical and Civil Engineering

chenn-zhou-2021-final

Chenn Zhou, Ph.D.

Interim Chair of Mechanical and Civil Engineering | NIPSCO Distinguished Professor of Engineering Simulation | Director, the Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation (CIVS)


czhou@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2665

Hammond Campus, PWRS 121

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


harveya@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2473

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211E

Chien-Chung Chen

Chien-Chung Chen, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor of Civil Engineering


chen1736@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2901

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211H

Hansung Kim

Hansung Kim, Ph.D.

Assistant Chair, Mechanical Engineering Coordinator, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


kim886@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2684

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211C

Yun (Tom) Liu

Yun (Tom) Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


liu739@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5381

Westville Campus, TECH 010

Subbaro is pictured.

Subbarao Venkata Majety

Lecturer and Director of Design Studio, School of Engineering


majety@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3232

Hammond Campus, Design Studio

Masoud Mojtahed

Masoud Mojtahed, Ph.D

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


mojtahed@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2480

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211F

Kimia Mortezaei Headshot

Kimia Mortezaei, Ph.D.

Lecturer


kmorteza@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2123

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211B

Nesrin Ozalp

Nesrin Ozalp, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


nozalp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2071

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211D

Xiuling Wang

Xiuling Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


wangx@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8065

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211I

Wubeshet Woldemariam

Wubeshet Woldemariam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering


wwoldema@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3147

Hammond Campus, Powers 211L

Nuri Zeytinoglu

Nuri Zeytinoglu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


nz@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5391

Westville Campus, TECH 082

Shengyong Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


syzhang@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5521

Westville Campus, TECH 387

Staff

Rose Benoit

Rose Benoit

Administrative Assistant


benoitr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2255

Hammond Campus, POTT 121

Erica Burnett

Erica Burnett-Montgomery

Secretary V


enburnet@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2404

Hammond Campus, NILS 340J

Jack Carrol Headshot

Jack Carrol

Technician/Computer Coordinator


jcarrol@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2047

Hammond Campus, POTT 304

PNW placeholder image

Susan Delatorre

Secretary


delatorr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2284

Hammond Campus, GYTE 251

John Hruska

Lab Supervisor


jnhruska@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2668

Hammond Campus, ANDR 142B

PNW placeholder image

Pamela Hunter

Administrative Assistant


pahunter@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2273

Hammond Campus, CLO 343

PNW placeholder image

Izabela Jannotta, M.S.

Chemistry Lab Technician


jannotta@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2321

Hammond Campus, GYTE 222B

dana-kril

Dana Krill, M.A.

Digital Marketing Manager


dkrill@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5676

Hammond Campus, POTT 126

Michelle Mack

Michelle Mack

Administrative Specialist V


mmmack@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3218

Hammond Campus, POTT 121

PNW placeholder image

Zachary Mullaney, M.S.

Lab Coordinator


zspivak@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2306

Hammond Campus, NILS 337B

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Physics Lab Technician


nortonms@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2373

Hammond Campus, GYTE 122

PNW placeholder image

Nathan Poling, M.S.

Lab Coordinator


polingn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5272

Westville Campus, SWRZ 115

Advisors

Bill Baginski, M.B.A.

Engineering Career Advisor & Internship Coordinator


william.baginski@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4122

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171C

 

Neil Hunt Headshot

Neil Hunt

Academic Advisor & Internship Coordinator


hunt202@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4116

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171F

Patrick Leser, M.A.

Academic Advisor


leserp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2250

Hammond Campus, GYTE 171D

JC White

Academic Advisor


jcwhite@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5582

Westville Campus, LSF 221 (Monday)
Hammond Campus, GYTE 171H (Tuesday to Friday)

Specialists

PNW placeholder image

Leslie Dorworth Thompson, M.S.

Aquatic Ecology Specialist


dorworth@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2726

Hammond Campus, GYTE 279