Faculty and Staff

College of Engineering and Sciences

Bruce Berdanier

Bruce W. Berdanier, Ph.D., PE, PS

Dean of the College of Engineering and Sciences | Acting Director of the School of Engineering


bberdani@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2469

Hammond, Potter 121

Catherine Murphy

Catherine Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Dean; Professor of Mathematics


cmmurphy@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2270

Hammond Campus, CLO 344

Vanessa Quinn

Vanessa S. Quinn, Ph.D.

Associate Dean; Professor of Biological Sciences


vquinn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5457

Hammond Campus, GYTE 181

Westville Campus, TECH 295

Christian G. Westring, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Crime and Forensics


cwestrin@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2495

Hammond Campus, GYTE 298

Our Faculty

Biological Sciences

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

J. Curtis Creighton, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Biological Sciences; Professor of Biological Sciences


creighto@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2617

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. Alix, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology


malix@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5295

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111B

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Scott T. Bates, Ph.D.

Nils K. Nelson Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


bates43@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5577

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111D

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Young D. Choi, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology


ydchoi@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2325

Hammond Campus, NILS 340F

John J. Durocher, Ph.D., ACSM-EP, CSCS

Nils K. Nelson Endowed Professor of Integrative Human Health


jjduroch@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2625

Hammond, NILS 340D
Westville, DSAC 1093

Lindsay Gielda

Lindsay M. Gielda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


lgielda@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5318

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111A

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Kenneth (Chris) Holford, Ph.D.

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs


cholford@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2446

Hammond Campus, LAWS 346
Westville Campus, SWRZ 150

Barbara Mania-Farnell, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences and Undergraduate Program Coordinator


bmania@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2014

Hammond Campus, NILS 340P

Matthew A. Ladwig, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Integrative Human Health


mladwig@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2738

Hammond Campus, NILS 340B

Hassan Naji is pictured.

Hassan Naji, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice


hnaji@pnw.edu

219-989-3177

Hammond Campus, NILS 340M

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Robin W. Scribailo, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences


rscrib@pnw.edu

219-785-5255

Westville Campus, SWRZ 111C

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Michelle Spaulding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mspauldi@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5614

Westville Campus, SWRZ 015

Radmila Sarac Stanic

Radmila Sarac Stanic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


saracr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2492

Hammond Campus, NILS 340K

 

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Feng-Song Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


wang73@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2152

Hammond Campus, NILS 340H

Michael Zimmer

Michael I. Zimmer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences


mzimmer@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2491

Hammond, NILS 340L

Chemistry and Physics

adam rengstorf

Adam W. Rengstorf, Ph.D.

Interim Chair, Department of Chemistry and Physics and Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy


adamwr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2327

Hammond Campus, GYTE 252

Hisham Hasan Abad

Hisham Hasan Abad, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics


abadh@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2618

Hammond Campus, GYTE 263

Reynaldo Barreto

Reynaldo (Rey) D. Barreto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rbarreto@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5475

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311B

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Glynn E. Bricker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


gbricker@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5452

Westville Campus, SWRZ 310

James Dolen

James W. Dolen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


jdolen@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2260

Hammond Campus, GYTE 259

Nicholas Ernst is pictured.

Nicholas E. Ernst, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry


neernst@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2624

Hammond Campus, GYTE 268

Dawit Gizachew

Dawit Gizachew, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


dgizache@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2667

Hammond Campus, GYTE 274

Farai Gombedza

Farai C. Gombedza, M.S., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry


fgombedz@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2914

Hammond Campus, GYTE 270

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Meden F. Isaac-Lam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


isaaclam@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5776

Westville Campus, SWRZ 311C

Robert Kramer

Robert A. Kramer, Ph.D., CEM, CDSM, CEA

Professor of Physics


kramerro@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2147

Hammond Campus, SAB 069 & GYTE 271

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Neeti Parashar, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics; Director, Center for High Energy Physics


parashar@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2722

Hammond Campus, GYTE 255

Libbie S. W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


pelterl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2780

Hammond Campus, Gyte 265

Michael Pelter

Michael W. Pelter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


mwpelter@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2449

Hammond Campus, Gyte 277

Kathryn Rowberg

Kathryn L. Rowberg, J.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry


rowberkl@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2620

Hammond Campus, GYTE 267

Charles Steele

Charles A. Steele, M.S.

Lecturer of Physical Science


steele49@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3185

Hammond Campus, GYTE 272

Daniel Suson

Daniel Suson, Ph.D.

Professor of Physics


daniel.suson@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2375

Hammond Campus, GYTE 269

Aaron Warren

Aaron R. Warren, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics


arwarren@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5659

Westville Campus, SWRZ 309

Computer Science

Shuhui (Grace) Yang

Shuhui Grace Yang, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Computer Science; Professor of Computer Science


shuhuiyang@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2697

Hammond Campus, CLO 370

Wei David Dai, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Director of Advanced Intelligence Software Lab


weidai@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2642

Hammond Campus, CLO 384

Roger Kraft

Roger Kraft, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


rlkraft@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2696

Hammond Campus, CLO 368

Sayanti Roy, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science


Hammond Campus, CLO 386

Ruijian Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science


zhangrj@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2706

Hammond Campus, CLO 372

Hairong Zhao

Hairong Zhao, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Graduate Advisor


hairong@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3181

Hammond Campus, CLO 366

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lizhe Tan

Lizhe Tan, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering | Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


lizhetan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2486

Hammond Campus, POTT 323

Rehan Ahmad

Visiting Assistant Professor


ahmad108@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4190

Hammond Campus, POTT 325

Khair Al Shamaileh

Khair Al Shamaileh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering


kalshama@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8374

Hammond Campus, POTT 331

Arash Asrari

Arash Asrari, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering


aasrari@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2763

Hammond Campus, POTT 231

Nasser Houshangi

Nasser Houshangi, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering


nhousha@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2461

Hammond Campus, POTT 329

Arkan Kadum

Lecturer


akadum@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2681

Hammond Campus, POTT 302

David Kozel

David Kozel, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


dkozel@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2680

Hammond Campus, POTT 333

Quamar Niyaz

Quamar Niyaz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


qniyaz@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2685

Hammond Campus, POTT 327

Mathematics and Statistics

TarfuleaNicoleta

Nicoleta E. Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Chair of Mathematics and Statistics | Interim Chair of Mechanical and Civil Engineering


netarful@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2707

Hammond Campus, CLO 378

Gokarna Aryal

Gokarna Aryal, Ph.D.

Professor of Statistics


aryalg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2701

Hammond Campus, CLO 380

PNW placeholder image

Norma Elias, Ph.D.

Limited Term Lecturer of Mathematics


elias@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2269

Hammond Campus, CLO 348

Anthony Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Anthony D. Elmendorf, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


adelmend@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2704

Hammond Campus, CLO 374

David Feikes

David Feikes, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


feikesd@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5489

Westville Campus, SWRZ 307

Harshini Fernando

Harshini Fernando, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


hfernando@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5471

Westville Campus, SWRZ 305

PNW placeholder image

Jeff Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education


gregg@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2705

Hammond Campus, CLO 356

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Grethe Hystad, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Statistics


ghystad@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2598

Hammond Campus, CLO 364

Bir Kafle, Ph.D.

Bir B. Kafle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


bkafle@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5774.

Hammond Campus, CLO 350

Jonathan Kuhn

Jonathan Kuhn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Statistics


jkuhn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5563

Westville Campus, SWRZ 107

Hammond Campus, CLO 383

PNW placeholder image

Robert Merkovsky, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics


rrmerkov@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2703

Hammond Campus, CLO 382

PNW placeholder image

Weihua Ruan, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


wruan@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2271

Hammond Campus, CLO 362

Nicolae Tarfulea Headshot

Nicolae Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


Tarfulea@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2698

Hammond Campus, CLO 376

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Alain Togbe, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics


atogbe@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5458

Westville Campus, SWRZ 302

PNW placeholder image

Diana Underwood Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Math Education


diana@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2274

Hammond Campus, CLO 354

Mechanical and Civil Engineering

TarfuleaNicoleta

Nicoleta E. Tarfulea, Ph.D.

Chair of Mathematics and Statistics | Interim Chair of Mechanical and Civil Engineering


netarful@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2707

Hammond Campus, CLO 378

Veera Gnaneswar Gude, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE, F.EWRI

NiSource-Meyer Charitable Foundation Professor of Energy and the Environment | Director, PNW Water Institute


vgude@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2636

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211E

Victor Gomez

Victor Gomez

Visiting Instructor


vromerog@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2577

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211B

Hansung Kim

Hansung Kim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


kim886@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2684

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211C

Yun (Tom) Liu

Yun (Tom) Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


liu739@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5381

Westville Campus, TECH 010

Subbaro is pictured.

Subbarao Venkata Majety, Ph.D.

Lecturer and Director of Design Studio, School of Engineering


majety@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3232

Hammond Campus, Design Studio

Masoud Mojtahed

Masoud Mojtahed, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


mojtahed@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2480

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211F

Kimia Mortezaei

Kimia Mortezaei, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice


kmorteza@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2123

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211K

Xiuling Wang

Xiuling Wang, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering


wangx@pnw.edu

(219) 989-8065

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211I

Wubeshet Woldemariam

Wubeshet Woldemariam, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Civil Engineering


wwoldema@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3147

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211H

Aref Yadollahi

Aref Yadollahi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


arefy@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2115

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211D

Nuri Zeytinoglu

Nuri Zeytinoglu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


nz@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5391

Westville Campus, TECH 082

Shengyong Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering


syzhang@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5521

Hammond Campus, PWRS 211B

Chenn Zhou

Chenn Zhou, Ph.D.

NIPSCO Distinguished Professor of Engineering Simulation | Director, the Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation (CIVS)


czhou@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2665

Hammond Campus, PWRS 121

Staff

Rose Benoit

Rose Benoit

Administrative Assistant, Math and Statistics


benoitr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2255

Hammond, Potter 321

Dora Calderon

Dora Calderon

Administrative Assistant, School of Engineering


calder47@pnw.edu

(219) 989-3218

Hammond Campus, POTT 121

Jack Carrol Headshot

Jack Carrol

Technician/Computer Coordinator


jcarrol@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2047

Hammond, Potter 304

Susan Delatorre

Susan Delatorre

Senior Administrative Assistant to the Dean, College of Engineering and Sciences


delatorr@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2468

Hammond, Potter 121

John Hruska

Lab Supervisor


jnhruska@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2668

Hammond, Anderson Building 142B

Izabela-Jannotta-thumb

Izabela Jannotta, M.S.

Chemistry Lab Technician


jannotta@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2321

Hammond, Gyte 222B

PNW placeholder image

Zachary Mullaney, M.S.

Lab Coordinator


zspivak@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2306

Hammond, Nils 337B

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Matthew Norton, M.S.

Physics Lab Technician


nortonms@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2373

Hammond, Gyte 122

LatonyaOvie

LaTonya Ovie

Administrative Assistant, Biological Sciences


lovie@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2404

Hammond, Nils 340J

PNW placeholder image

Nathan Poling, M.S.

Lab Coordinator


polingn@pnw.edu

(219) 785-5272

Westville, Schwarz 115

Advisors

Bill Baginski

Academic and Student Success Advisor


baginski@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4122

Make an Appointment
Hammond, GYTE 171C

Neil Hunt Headshot

Neil Hunt

Academic and Student Success Advisor


hunt202@pnw.edu

(219) 989-4116

Make an Appointment
Hammond, GYTE 171F

Patrick Leser

Academic and Student Success Advisor


leserp@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2250

Make an Appointment
Hammond, GYTE 171D

Specialists

PNW placeholder image

Leslie Dorworth Thompson, M.S.

Aquatic Ecology Specialist


dorworth@pnw.edu

(219) 989-2726

Hammond Campus, GYTE 279

Emeriti Faculty

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Harvey Abramowitz, Eng.Sc.D

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering


Hammond Campus, POTT 225

Constantin Apostoaia

Constantin Apostoaia, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Hammond Campus, POTT 300

PNW placeholder image

Barrie Burridge

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Purna C. Das

Purna Das, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Physics


PNW placeholder image

Gayla Domke, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Emerita of Mathematics


PNW placeholder image

Howard Gerber, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Kaliappan Gopalan

Kaliappan Gopalan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Donald Gray, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Richard Hengst

Richard Hengst, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Biology


PNW placeholder image

Toma Hentea

Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering


PNW placeholder image

Robert Peloquin, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences


Edward Pierson, Sc.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering


Keith Schwingendorf

Keith Schwingendorf, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics


W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

W.T. Evert Ting, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita of Biological Sciences


Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Peter Turbek, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics


Laura Unger

Laura Unger, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita of Chemistry